Also by Reinvestment Fund

Interns

Seth Brown
Lending Intern

Where do you go to school and what are you studying towards?
I’m a second year dual MPP/MBA candidate. My policy interests include U.S. foreign, economic, and environmental policy and my business interests include social entrepreneurship, impact investing, and energy/environment.

What attracted you to Reinvestment Fund for an internship?
In general, I am interested in access to capital for disenfranchised /marginalized populations. In particular, I am curious about the information asymmetry between banks and populations that do not have access to traditional lines of credit. In Durham (where I live), the CDFI Self-Help has done tremendous work in community development, inclusive growth, and urban revitalization. My girlfriend lives in and develops Anacostia, a neglected and divested part of our nation’s capital. Washington is a city that has had rapid gentrification and I am curious to learn how CDFIs can help larger communities. At the Net Impact Conference, I was impressed by Reinvestment Fund’s ability to create and protect wealth for underserved populations in Philadelphia. As a dual degree, I strive to align the public and private sectors to solve global problems. Reinvestment Fund is at the vanguard of this movement.

What are some of the things you will be working on for Reinvestment Fund during your internship? What do you hope to learn from your internship here?
As I currently understand, my works seems to be three fold: 1) lending origination 2) research a policy question regarding regulated and unregulated housing markets and LIHTCs and finally 3) business evaluation to identify collateral in deals outside of real property. I’m hoping to learn how CDFI’s assess and mitigate risk and monitor/evaluate impact.

Share something interesting you have learned about Reinvestment Fund or the industry in your time here.
Lending has its own language.

Is there anything else that you would like to share that we didn’t ask you?
This is my first job in the private sector! I served as an Army officer for 5 years. After leaving the Army, I purchased a 1986 VW Vanagon and spent 4 months traveling the nation, focusing on national parks, music venues, breweries, and baseball. Between my first and second years of grad school, I interned at the Department of State’s Economic Bureau focusing on national security concerns.

College(s) attended: Duke University, BSE- Biomedical Engineering (2009), and Masters of Public Policy, Masters of Business Administration (expected graduation 2017)